Another newb here

Hi all,

After 20 years in accounting, I am contemplating a career change. Its due to a combination of boredom with accounting, a new found fascination for Cybersecurity and elements of midlife crisis. I am turning 44 so a part of me would like me to put this in the ‘too hard’ basket and hope that its just a phase that will pass. But the other part is eager to embark on this exciting path and never look back.

I wont make it too long. Basically I am brand new to IT and cybersecurity and even newer here at StationX. I have contemplated doing a Masters/Bachelors in cybersecurity, acquire certifications and enlist in a bootcamp. But the only thing I have actually done is purchase a bunch of online courses. For the past month and a half, I have regularly spent my evenings self studying. But in all honesty, I feel that information retention is an issue and can’t see how one can hold all this knowledge while continuing a day job in an unrelated field.

Has anyone else here managed to pull this off? How did you do it? Also can I get some advice on where to begin at StationX? I have started with the Complete CyberSecurity course but feel like I may have skipped ahead.

Kind regards,
Sam

Hi and welcome,

If you have no experience at all, I would start with “CompTIA IT fundamentals”.
Then I would start with Linux.
Jason Cannon’s courses are great.
After that, Learn Ethical Hacking From Scratch by Zaid Al-Quraish is a very good start.

Thank you Edwin. I will do that. But just curious that it’s ok to go from fundamentals to Linux and ethical hacking without a solid foundation in networking? One of my major struggles is deciding on the order of things. Every time I think I have it figured, I end up reading or hearing something new and begin to second guess my choices. As an example, I started out trying to learn Python only to realise that that could wait till much later. Guess this is what makes self study especially challenging.

1 Like