Hello and a TCP/IP study question!

Hi Nathan (and all other forum members),

Nathan, I am studying towards becoming a pen tester and on job descriptions and on various courses I have repeatedly been told that I must have a solid foundation in TCP/IP and network fundamentals. Can you tell me specifically what that means in terms of subjects?
I already understand the 3 way handshaking and the basics about sockets (I program in python and have played a little bit with simple client/server scripts), but do I need to learn the bit level construcion of the various networking layers or what else?
I would really appreciate it if you could explain exactly what I need to learn and if there is a particular course or part of a course that would give me the specific knowledge that I need.
I want to start applying for positions but I really don’t want to fail to get a position for the sake of not learning the right foundation stuff.

many thanks
Nav.

1 Like

Nathan covers this in a pretty good overview in the Cybersecurity volume 2 Network Security course. I imagine it’s covered really in depth in the Network+ Comptia course (I’ve purchased it but haven’t gone through it yet) since the test is about Advanced Networking exclusively

If I was asked this, not knowing the context - as in security focused, I would say:

• You understand the concept of IP addresses and subnetting, you know if two are on the same network or not and could use a subnet calculator (if you couldn’t do it in your head) to put a machine or device on the correct network.

• You know of, and understand, the 7 layered OSI model.

• You’re able to do basic troubleshooting on a Linux based OS using standard packages and their tools/commands. Even as basic as ping, ARP, ip, possibly older netstat, maybe even viewing these stats in their raw form in /proc.