Journey to Cyber Security

Hi! I’ve been studying Cyber Security for several months now. I purchased The Complete Cyber Security Courses and Ethical Hacking Course on StationX. I haven’t finished all the courses yet since I also study different courses such as CCNA - Security, Comptia Sec+ and Certified Ethical Hacking (CEH) and recently Python Programming. My eagerness to learn and improve myself landed me some humble certifications such as CCNA R&S and CCNA - Security. I have plans to take more certifications in the future such as CCNP - Security, Comptia Sec+, CEH and others related to security. I haven’t landed a job yet but I’m planning to apply for a job at a Anti-Virus / Security Company with a position of Threat Response Engineer or Network Security Engineer. The Carrer Guide to Cyber Security really helped me alot and shared it to some of my friends. I just want to ask if I’m on the right track or Am I spreading myself too much and not being good at a certain field of security.

1 Like

Have short-term goals and long-term objectives. Aim to study the courses you want to do for a job and don’t waste time learning things you don’t need to know for that job.

2 Likes

Thanks Nathan, I can see a bit of research is required here to plan what courses I need to do, but one problem I have atm is what sort of job do I want to do. There’s so many different jobs within the Cyber Security world and some require different qualifications and experience. I can see it’s going to be a busy weekend.

Check out the job boards too!

Thanks Nathan, yes definitely the job boards.