Kali Linux 2020 Restart Issues

Hello,

I am a new student here at StationX, so forgive me if I am not posting this in the right place. This is also my first forum that I have ever joined.

I have installed and updated Kali Linux 2020.2 on my PC running Windows 10 Pro edition. I can get Kali to load and it works fine until I power down the machine (in VirtualBox 6.1). When I try to restart Kali it just freezes on the logo screen. I have waited several minutes (maybe 15) and it still does not load. I noticed that if I reboot windows Kali will boot just fine with no load issues.

Anyone else having this problem?

Once again, I apologize if this is not the right place to be posting this thread.

Thank you for taking the time to help me!
Cyb3rStud3nt

When you check the VM in the VirtualBox GUI, does the VM shows as stopped, or is it running?

I ask because that behavior sounds like the VM could be getting stuck during shutdown - that a process run during a normal shutdown process is hanging. When you open the VM again, it would show you the machine in that hung state, unresponsive.

When it gets like that, try closing the window and telling VirtualBox to power the VM off (either through the dialog that comes up or by right-clicking the VM in the list in the VirtualBox GUI). If the VM starts successfully after that, then it’s a problem in the shutdown process. If that is the case, check logs like /var/log/syslog to see if there’s an error message present that suggests what’s going wrong when you shut the machine down normally.

I had a similar thing happen to me when I tried to install Debian Buster (Kali Linux is based on Debian of course).

My host OS is Windows 10 Home edition and I also use Virtualbox 6.1.